Assignment four: Languages of light – second attempt

Second attempt and still not very happy with this!  This time I tried a series of shots of a single view at different time throughout an afternoon and evening, effectively repeating the process of Exercise 4.2 but including artificial light as well, and ending with a low light shot with what little ambient light remained and no artificial light.

Some sense of the passage of time is gained by the movement of the shadows from shot to shot.  Nevertheless this still does not work for me.  The result is pedestrian, uninspiring, and still does not have anything very interesting to say to me about light.

Although I regard this attempt as a failure I nevertheless include the contact sheet below – not annotated as there does not seem to me to be much point as I am using none of the images – to show at least that I have done some more work on it and have thought about it further.  If nothing else it has forced me to think differently, in a more creative and adventurous way and deliberately move away from an obvious or easy approach or subject matter.  I do have something a bit more radical in mind now and will post again once I have experimented a bit more.

For the sake of completeness, all were shot from a tripod with a wide angle 10-18mm lens at 14mm, f/18.  Shutter speeds varied with the light.  The last shot could have benefited, as a stand alone image, by having a longer exposure than 30s but by this point it was clear to me this approach was going nowhere so I did not feel the need to experiment further.

Leave a comment